Ok. Maybe it was the outfit.
Anyway, I warmed up for .25 miles, then I started to run at 4.5 mph. Pretty easy going. I also at that point decided to see what would happen if I just kept looking at my distance instead of counting down time. So I kept thinking:Can I get to .35 miles? How 'bout .45? Awesome, you made it to .50, let's get to .60..." and so forth. I really was talking myself up a lot today, and I'm proud of myself! I made it to 1 mile on 4.5. I walked out another .25, then decided I was gonna go every .10 miles at 5.0, then 4.5, and so forth...
So I started with 5.0...
"Alright, you made it to 1.35! I feel good... I'm gonna go another .10 on 5."
"Wow, I made it to 1.5! My legs are burning, but it's not enough to stop me."
I made it to 1.70, then felt my breathing starting to stagger a little... so I slowed my running to 4.5 till I got to 1.85. Then I finished strong at 5.0.
I made it to 2.05 in 27:59 minutes, which made my pace 13:38.
I'm super proud of myself!
I know for a lot of you, it may not sound like a fast pace at all, but it's really a big deal to me. There was a time when I couldn't go 4.5 for more then 30 seconds at a time without wheezing and coughing.My highlight of today? The 4.5 that first mile... seemed pretty effortless. I felt good. So I bumped it up. I really challenged myself. And I wasn't afraid of the challenge!
Yay me.
Happy Running.
No comments:
Post a Comment